# Kael HANSON, Ph. D.

Wisconsin IceCube Particle Astrophysics Center / University of Wisconsin – Madison 222 West Washington Ave Suite 500 / Madison, WI 53703

## **Professional Preparation**

University of Michigan	Ann Arbor, MI	Physics	B.S. (1991)
University of Michigan	Ann Arbor, MI	Physics	Ph.D. (2000)
University of Pennsylvania	Philadelphia, PA	Postdoctoral Researcher	2000 - 2002

#### Appointments

2014 -	Professor of Physics and Director
	Wisconsin IceCube Particle Astrophysics Center University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
2009 - 2014	Chargé de cours, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium
2005 - 2009	Associate Instrumentation Innovator University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
2003 - 2005	Assistant Instrumentation Innovator University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
2002 - 2003	Assistant Researcher University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

# Products

- i) Selected publications
  - *a.* Observation of High-Energy Astrophysical Neutrinos in Three Years of IceCube Data. M.G. Aartsen et al. (IceCube Collaboration). Phys. Rev. Lett. **113** (2014) 101101.
  - *b. IceCube Sensitivity for Low-Energy Neutrinos from Nearby Supernovae.* R. Abbasi, et al. (IceCube Collaboration), Astronomy and Astrophysics **535** (2011) A109
  - *c. Calibration and characterization of the IceCube photomultiplier tube*. R. Abbasi et al. (IceCube Collaboration). Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A618 (2010) 139-152.
  - d. The IceCube Data Acquisition System: Signal Capture, Digitization, and Timestamping. R. Abbasi et al. (IceCube Collaboration) Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A601 294-316 (2009)
  - e. On the detection of neutrinos from solar flares using pion-decay photons to provide a time window template. G. de Wasseige, K. Hanson, N. van Eijndhoven, P. Evenson, K.-L. Klein. arXiv:1505.05837.
- ii) Other publications
  - a. Performance of two Askaryan Radio Array stations and first results in the search for ultra-high energy neutrinos. P. Allison et al. (ARA Collaboration). arXiv:1507.08991 (submitted to PRD)
  - *b. On the feasibility of RADAR detection of high-energy neutrino-induced showers in ice.* Krijn D. De Vries, Kael Hanson, Thomas Meures. Astroparticle Physics **60** (2015) 25-31.

- *c.* A bi-directional fixed-latency clock distribution system. Y. Yang, A. Ó Murchadha, T. Meures, M. Korntheuer, and K. Hanson. Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A732 (2013) 497-500.
- *d. R&D on triggerless acquisition for next-generation neutrino experiments.* J.E. Campagne, et al., J. Instr. 6 (2011) C01081

## **Synergistic Activities**

- Co-founder of HK Physics, LLC, Madison, WI. An optics instrumentation business with international clients in industrial and defense sectors.
- Academic mentor (UW Madison, Department of Physics) for two high school students, Aileen Zhai and Tyler Trickle, as part of Madison Metropolitan School District's Science Research Intern program (Summer 2015).
- Academic mentor (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels Belgium) for two US undergraduate students, Anna Christenson and Rami Jubara, in the NSF International Research Experiences for Students (Summer 2014).
- Instructor / organizer of astroparticle physics section of Journées Jeunes Chercheurs (2010, Angers, France), a week-long winter school for European physics graduate students.
- Featured guest speaker on Wisconsin Public Radio Ideas Network (2007)

## **List of Collaborators**

- The IceCube Collaboration: 311 authors at 45 institutions. See arXiv:1507.04005
- The ARA Collaboration: 66 authors, 16 institutions. See arXiv:1507.08991

## **Graduate Advisors and Postdoctoral Sponsors**

- Thesis Advisor: Prof. M. J. Longo, Department of Physics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.
- Postdoctoral Advisor: Prof. D. Cowen (formerly U Penn, now Penn State University).

#### Thesis Advisor and Postgraduate-Scholar Sponsor

- Postdoctoral-Scholar Sponsor to:
  - Alberto Marrotta (ULB, 2010-2011)
  - Mark Dierckxsens (ULB, 2010-2012)
  - Aongus Ó Murchadha (ULB, 2012-2014)
- PhD Thesis Advisor to:
  - o Sabrina Bechet (ULB, 2012)
  - o Thomas Meures (ULB, 2014)
  - o David Heereman (ULB, 2015)
  - Elisa Pinat (ULB, 2016 expected)